Understanding LED Lighting Certifications

Many consumers are still learning about LED lights and the benefits they offer in residential and commercial settings. For new LED light users, it can be difficult to understand the language associated with LED lights. From lighting levels to wattage output to various LED lighting certifications, there is a learning curve for a consumer that wants to make an educated choice when choosing the right LED light for their needs.

LED lighting certifications

LED Lighting Certifications: What they mean

Many LED products fail to meet basic safety and performance standards, leaving customers less confident in the reliability of LED lights.

Fortunately, there are a number of recognized and reliable LED lighting certifications that customers can use to choose an LED light that will perform well.

LED Lighting Certifications: UL Listed

UL (Underwriters Laboratories) is a U.S.-based safety and consulting company that offers services internationally. The UL Listed LED lighting certification means that UL has tested a representative sample of the product and found the product to meet the requirements of their published Standards for Safety.

If the UL logo is on a package, it means that the product and all of its components have been found to pass UL’s examination as a unit and that the product is safe for home or business use.

LED Lighting Certifications: CE Marking

The CE mark (an abbreviation of the French phrase “Conformité Européene”) is required for certain products sold within the European Economic Area, enabling freedom of movement and continuity across the European market. This mark means that the product has met the EU safety, health and environmental standards that have been established by legislation. Products with the CE mark are not necessarily produced in the EU, but they can be sold there. All LED lights sold in Europe must meet CE standards and carry the CE mark.

LED Lighting Certifications: CSA Group

The CSA (Compliance, Standards, Accountability) Group is a Canadian organization that reviews and accredits products to a wide range of standards from many different organizations. Within lighting, a CSA mark indicates product evaluation, energy efficiency, and quality standards within lighting have been met. CSA is recognized by many governmental agencies, including the Environmental Protection Agency in the U.S.

LED Lighting Certifications: RoHS Compliant

The RoHS or Restriction of Hazardous Substances is another set of EU standards for electrical and electronic products that are required for all products sold within the EU. To be RoHS compliant, a product must not exceed the maximum levels for certain restricted materials including lead, mercury, cadmium, hexavalent chromium, polybrominated biphenyls, and polybrominated diphenyl ethers.

Close Menu